Master Instructors

The master instructors ARTBA provides for these training sessions literally have written the book on work zone safety. They have been developing safety programs for ARTBA and key federal agencies for more than a decade and weigh in with some 300 years of collective transportation and construction experience. Instructors include:

Neal Carboneau, leads the Transportation Training Institute, a regional education and technical assistance firm based in West Lafayette, Indiana. He previously managed the research and implementation program at Indiana’s Local Technical Assistance Program in Purdue University’s School of Civil Engineering.

Bruce Drewes, principal of 3T Group in Boise, Idaho. He was manager of the Idaho T2 Center, which offers highway related training courses and technical assistance, and has taught safety courses across the U.S. and as far away as Kuwait.

Donald Elisburg, former executive director of the Occupational Health Foundation, and retired principal investigator and project director for the Center to Protect Workers’ Rights. Elisburg helped develop the Roadway + program.

Gary Fore, retired from overseeing environment, health and safety programs at the National Asphalt Pavement Association. Fore helped develop the Roadway Safety Program.

Van Arden Howell, associate director at the OSHA Training Institute Education Center at the University of California San Diego. His 35-year career in safety and health training has included key roles with the U.S. Navy and the U.S. Department of Labor.

Emmett Russell, retired safety and health director at the International Union of Operating Engineers. During his career, Russell has participated on numerous committees and workgroups established by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).