Women Leaders Awards

Established in 2010 by ARTBA Chairman Bill Cox, the Women Leaders in Transportation Design and Construction Council “promotes leadership and career advancement for women in the industry through mentoring, recognition, educational activities and networking.”

View the Brochure

Deadline Aug. 4

Nominations will be considered for the following three awards:

Nomination Form for “Ethel S. Birchland Lifetime Achievement Award”
Named after Ethel S. Birchland, who served as ARTBA’s executive director from 1924 to 1928, this award is given to at least one woman who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and long-term service in the transportation design and construction industry’s public or private sectors. Particular focus is given to the individual’s dedication to the advancement of innovation and other women leaders.

Nomination Form for “The Glass Hammer Award”
It is given annually to at least one company in the transportation construction industry that has innovative programs and activities directed at successfully promoting women leaders within their organization. Extra credit is given to those firms that also promote women leadership within the associations and community organizations they financially support.

Nomination Form for the “Future Industry Spotlight Award”
Self-nominations are preferred for this category. The award is given annually to bring national industry attention to two women students enrolled in undergraduate or graduate studies at a U.S. college or university who have thus far achieved an outstanding academic record and demonstrated extraordinary leadership skills within and outside the academic environment. Candidates may be pursuing a degree in any discipline germane to the business of transportation design and construction.

Contractor Safety Awards 2017

The American Road & Transportation Builders Association— Transportation Development Foundation (ARTBA-TDF) introduced the ARTBA Contractor Safety Awards in 2007. The awards were developed in the belief that the preservation of the health and safety of our industry employees is our highest value. ARTBA-TDF understands the effort required by all levels of company management and employees to achieve and maintain a high level of safety performance. Those companies that consistently sustain excellent safety records have a story to tell that may help other contractors improve their programs.

Deadline Aug. 31

Contractor Safety Award Overview

Contractor Safety Nomination Form

View the Press Release Announcing the 2016 Contractor Safety Award Winners

S. S. Steinberg Award

The prestigious S.S. Steinberg Award from ARTBA’s Research & Education Division (RED) is named after the founding president of the division. The award recognizes “an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.”

Deadline Dec. 1

Northwestern University Professor Joseph Schofer Honored with ARTBA’s 2016 Research & Education Award

List of Steinberg Award winners since 1981

Solicitation for Nominations document

The Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program

Established in 1999, the Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program provides post-high school financial assistance to help the sons, daughters or legally adopted children of highway workers killed or permanently disabled on the job.

2017 Applications Closed

2017 Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program Overview

Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship Application Form

2016 Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Make a Gift

Helping Hand Awards

ARTBA Foundation’s “Helping Hand” Awards recognize businesses with extraordinary programs—outside the scope of normal business operations—that demonstrably benefit and help improve the quality of life in the community where they are based or conduct business.

2017 Nominations Closed

View the Press Release Announcing the 2016 Helping Hand Award Winners

Helping Hand Award Overview

Helping Hand Award Nomination