ARTBA’s mission is simple: We are a federation whose primary goal is to aggressively grow and protect transportation infrastructure investment to meet the public and business demand for safe and efficient travel.  In support of this mission, ARTBA also provides programs and services designed to give its public and private sector members a global competitive edge.

ARTBA’s core values and principles-defined and reflected in the association’s governance, management, policies and program of work-include: integrity and the highest ethical standards, visionary leadership that always focuses on the future and fosters innovation, an “action-oriented” approach and intelligent risk taking.

Here’s a timeline of key association milestones:

1902 - American Road Makers (ARM) constitution, drafted by Horatio S. Earle,approved February 13 at Cadillac Hotel in New York City.
1903 - First association convention held in Detroit, Mich.
1910 - Name changed to American Road Builders Association (ARBA).
1915 - ARBA sponsors first “Pan American Good Roads Conference.”
1916 - ARBA successfully pushes first Federal-Aid Road Act.
1923 - Association launches member magazine (today’s “Transportation Builder”).
1927 - ARBA-American Association of State Highway Officials (AASHO) Joint Committee established.
1934 - ARBA-supported Hayden-Cartwright Act is signed into law authorizing $200 million for highway projects.
1940 - Annual convention & “Road Show” in Chicago attracts 47,500.
1942 - ARBA helps form “The Road Gang” in Washington, D.C.
1945 - ARBA member Harry S. Truman elected U.S. President.
1948 - Record 300,000 attend ARBA “Road Show” in Chicago, Ill.
1956 - ARBA founder Earle’s vision of Interstate Highway Construction Program and the federal Highway Trust Fund established by law.
1966 - ARBA-advocated cabinet-level U.S. Department of Transportation created.
1968 - ARBA & CIMA create The Road Information Program (TRIP), headquartered in ARBA office.
1970 - ARBA-pushed federal Airport Trust Fund established.
1976 - ARBA-proposed federal 4-R bridge programs enacted.
1977 - Name changed to American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA). Transportation Officials Division established.
1979 - ARTBA Political Action Committee (PAC) started. Traffic Safety Industry Division established.
1982 - ARTBA successfully pushes first federal gas tax increase for road construction in 23 years.
1985 - ARTBA holds first-ever National Conference on Highway Work Zone Safety in Washington, D.C. ARTBA Transportation Development Foundation (TDF) established.
1986 - ARTBA Washington, D.C., event celebrates 30th anniversary of Interstate Highway Program.
1989 - “Washington Update” fax service established. ARTBA organizes $1.5 million “Building a Better America Through Transportation Construction Campaign” to push for
1990 - Public Private Ventures in Transportation Division established.
1991 - ARTBA-pushed highway/transit program bill (ISTEA) signed into law by President George H.W. Bush.
1993 - ARTBA files first environmental lawsuit to protect industry market interests.
1994 - ARTBA Industry Advancement Fund (IAF) created. ARTBA launches InfoStructure OnlineTM electronic bulletin board.
1995 - ARTBA successfully pushes enactment of National Highway System Designation Act. ARTBA initiates Alliance for Truth in Transportation Budgeting. ARTBA-TDF creates
1996 - ARTBA initiates Transportation Construction Coalition (TCC).
1997 - “Washington Newsline” established. ARTBA flagship website (www.artba.org) launched. ARTBA and Federal Highway Administration establish first-everNational Work Zone Safety Information Clearinghouse.
1998 - ARTBA-led coalitions successfully push record $218 billion federal highway/transit programbill (TEA-21) signed into law by President Bill Clinton. ARTBA “PRIDE
1999 - ARTBA-TDF creates first-ever Lanford Family Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship Program.
2000 - ARTBA-led coalition secures passage of federal aviation bill (AIR-21), increasingfederal airport capital investment by more than 60%. It’s signed into
2001 - ARTBA holds first-ever International Conference on Roadway Work Zone Safety.
2002 - ARTBA celebrates 100th anniversary in New York City and Washington, D.C.
2003 - ARTBA-led coalition successfully advocates for passage of aviation investment bill (VISION-100)that’s signed into law by President George W. Bush.
2004 - ARTBA plays a key leadership role in helping secure long-time industry goal of ethanol tax reform,which results in an additional
2005 - ARTBA-pushed highway/transit program bill (SAFETEA-LU) signed into law by President George W. Bush.
2006 - ARTBA celebrates 50th anniversary of the Interstate Highway Program in Washington, D.C.with a gala dinner featuring General Colin Powell.
2007 - ARTBA hosts National Traffic Management & Work Zone Safety Conference atIntertraffic North America in Fort Lauderdale, Fla.
2009 - President Barack Obama signs the American Recovery & Reinvestment Act, which providesan extra $48 billion over two years for transportation
2010 - ARTBA-TDF unveils Transportation Development Hall of Fame.
2011 - ARTBA launches first-ever Dr. J. Don Brock TransOvation™ Workshop, an interactive event aimed at fostering industry innovation.
2012 - The 27-month long highway/transit investment bill (MAP-21) signed into law by President Barack Obama.ARTBA hosts first-ever “Local Transportation Management Virtual
2013 - ARTBA hosts milestone 25th Annual National Public-Private Partnerships (P3) in Transportation Conference.
2014 - ARTBA launches Transportation Investment Advocacy Center™.ARTBA hosts inaugural National Workshop for State & Local Transportation Advocates.ARTBA rolls out first-ever all-digital
2015 - A five-year highway/transit investment bill (FAST Act) is signed into law by President Barack Obama.ARTBA-TDF’s Young Executive Development Program is
2016 - ARTBA-TDF Safety Certification for Transportation Project Professionals™ program launched.
2017 - ARTBA marks 115th anniversary of service to the U.S. transportation design and construction industry.


By | 2017-10-05T11:00:13+00:00 August 21st, 2017|Comments Off on History

About the Author: